Young, Fabulous and Broke

I remember the day David and I moved in with my parents in Illinois. That was a little over three years ago now, yet I remember it like it was yesterday. I remember laying on the bed in the guest bedroom working out our finances and determining that we had absolutely zero money and lots of bills to pay. That 6 month grace period you get before you have to start paying back your student loans goes by quick! We had student loans, phone bill, car insurance, etc. Thankfully for the few months we lived with my parents they didn’t charge us a dime in rent or food so that we could get on our feet.

When we moved into our first apartment in IL (with crazy high rent), I remember paying the deposit and first months rent and then feeling like that 3 month stint at my parents house never existed. All the money we saved, was gone. We were broke. I recall having a heart attack when we had to spend $250 on kitchen chairs so we had somewhere to sit. At the time, that was a tremendous expense!

Not only were we trying to make ends meet on a monthly basis we were also smack dab in the middle of planning our wedding. A wedding that we would be paying the majority of. Needless to say, this was a very stressful time. We had to figure out how to kick being broke in the butt! Thankfully, before  moving to Illinois I worked for a great boss, and at the time I had no idea he was about to help me out in a big way. He would teach me a lot of things about finances and how to set myself up for a healthy financial future. We spoke of finances often, It was great and I miss those conversations. One day he came back from lunch and set a book down on my desk and told me to read it cover-to-cover. He was serious, and said it would be a very valuable read.

This book was called The Money Book for the Young, Fabulous and Broke by Suze Orman. Now, I know many people have their thoughts about Suze Orman, heck, I didn’t know who she was until I was finished reading the book. So I wasn’t going to judge the book by the cover and you shouldn’t either. This book is outstanding. I highly recommend logging in to your Amazon.com account and ordering it (in hardback – this is one for the shelves) as soon as possible.

This book has definitely set the hubs and I up for a healthy financial future. We learned about our credit, and how to use it wisely and to our benefit, as well as, how to manage and take care of our student loans, create budgets and learn to save. And that’s only a tip of the ice berg! I cannot say enough good things about this book, other than it’s a shame that I had to learn these lessons on my own instead of  in a life skills or business class in High school (that’s a rant for another time).

Without this book it would have been very difficult, nearly impossible, to do any of these things.

  •  Pay for our wedding
  • Afford to move back to Colorado
             

  •  Purchase a beautiful home
  •  Purchase a lovely new(er) automobile.
  • And a plethora of other things

I recommend this book to anyone, even if you aren’t young, even if you aren’t fabulous (Although, aren’t we all!?), but especially if you’re broke. I guarantee you’ll learn something you didn’t know before.

Leave a Reply

